Archive FAQ > History and Mark for Later

What is my History?

Your History is a log of every work you access on the Archive while logged in. This log is ordered by date (more recently accessed works are listed first). Below the work blurb you'll find the date you last accessed the work and how many times you've accessed it in total. If you've used the "Mark for Later" feature, the annotation "Marked for Later" will also be displayed in parentheses. Go to What does the "Mark for Later" button do? for more information on this feature.

The History is enabled by default. To disable it, go to the Miscellaneous section of your Preferences page, uncheck the checkbox beside "Turn on Viewing History", then select the "Update" button at the bottom of the page. Any works you access after that won't be recorded, and your past History can't be accessed. Note that this will also disable the Mark for Later feature and your Marked for Later list will no longer be accessible. For more information please refer to the Preferences FAQ.

Where can I find my History?

When you're logged in, select the greeting (Hi, [user name]!) and choose "My History" from the menu. If you're on your Dashboard, you can also choose "History" in the navigation sidebar (found at the top of the page when you're using a mobile device). If you have works in your "Marked for Later" list, you can access this list using the "Marked for Later" button on your History page. There will also be a selection of your marked for later works on your Homepage, as well as a link to "My History". Please refer to What does the "Mark for Later" button do? and following questions for more information on this feature.

How can I edit my History?

You can delete individual works from your History, clear it completely, or turn it off altogether.

To clear it, go to your History page and select the "Clear History" button. Note that this option cannot be undone and it will also clear your Marked for Later list.

The History is enabled by default. To disable it, go to the Miscellaneous section of your Preferences page, uncheck the checkbox beside "Turn on Viewing History", then select the "Update" button at the bottom of the page. Any works you access after that won't be recorded, and your past History can't be accessed. Note that this will also disable the Mark for Later feature and your Marked for Later list will no longer be accessible. For more information please refer to the Preferences FAQ.

If you turn History back on, your past History and Marked for Later list will become accessible again. If you'd like to delete everything completely, please make sure you clear your History before turning it off.

How do I delete only certain works without clearing my complete History?

On the History page, find the entry you wish to remove and select the "Delete from History" button in the work's blurb. If you had previously added this work to your Marked for Later list, deleting the work from your History will also remove it from the list.

You can also delete works from your History and your Marked for Later list if they appear on the "Is it later already?" section of your Homepage. To do so, select the "Delete from History" button below the work's blurb. This will remove the work from both your History and your Marked for Later list.

Can I search within my History?

At this time it's not possible to search within your History and there are currently no plans to make this feature available. You can, of course, use your browser's search function to find key words on the page.

What does the "Mark for later" button do?

When you use this button on a work's page, that work will be added to your Marked for Later list. Once a work is added, the button changes to "Mark as Read" and appears only at the end of the work or chapter.

Your "Marked for Later" list is a sub-section of your History and allows you to flag works you'd like to return to at another time. A random selection of three works will be promoted on your Homepage, if you're logged in, or you can access the list anywhere you can access your History. Refer to How do I access works I've marked for later? for more information.

Who can access my History or Marked for Later List?

Only you can access your History and Marked for Later list. It's not available to anyone else on the site, including admins.

How do I access works I've marked for later?

You access your Marked for Later list from your History page. When you're logged in, select the greeting (Hi, [user name]!) and choose "My History" from the navigation menu. If you're on your Dashboard, you can also reach it by choosing "History" in the navigation sidebar (found at the top of the page when you're using a mobile device). From your Homepage, you can select the "My History" link in the "Is it later already?" section.

Once you are on your History page, select the "Marked for Later" button at the top of the page.

You can also access a work you've marked for later directly from your Homepage—if it appears in the randomly-generated "Is it later already?" list—by selecting the title link there.

Why is there no "Mark for Later" button on a work?

The Marked for Later feature, including the "Mark for Later" and "Mark as Read" buttons, is only available when you are logged in and have your History turned on. Refer to How can I turn off/on my History?

Why is a work I just marked for later not in my list?

Updates won't immediately appear on your Marked for Later list; it may take up to half an hour. Check again later and the works should be on the list.

How do I remove a work from my Marked for Later list?

To remove a work from your Marked for Later list, browse to the work's page and scroll to the end of the chapter or work. You should see a "Mark as Read" button. Select the button and the work will be removed from your Marked for Later list, but will remain in your History. Note that it may take some time for your list to be updated.

To remove the work from the Marked for Later list and your History, you can select the "Delete from History" button in the blurb on your Marked for Later page, or below the blurb in the "Is it later already?" section on your Homepage. Note that deleting a work from your Marked for Later list will also delete it from your History, and vice versa.

How do I clear my History, but keep my Marked for Later list?

It's not currently possible to clear your History without also clearing your Marked for Later list, as they are linked together.

Where can I get more information if my question isn’t answered here?

Some commonly asked questions about the Archive are answered in the broader Archive FAQ. Questions and answers about our Terms of Service can be found in the Terms of Service FAQ. You may also like to check out our Known Issues. If you need more help, please contact Support.